Camino Real Award The Camino Real Award was introduced in 2012, coinciding with the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the Institute (1987), to recognize the professional work of Spaniards who prominently and exemplary project and enhance the positive image of Spain in the United States. Read more >
ESPAUSA Encyclopedia The project “Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Spanish presence in the territory of the current United States (1512-1821)” consists in research and information gathering to develop an encyclopedia of the Spanish presence in the United States Read more >
El Instituto Franklin-UAH celebra su 30 aniversario El pasado jueves 21 de diciembre el Instituto Franklin-UAH celebró su 30 aniversario en una ceremonia organizada en la Universidad de Alcalá. Durante la ceremonia, a la que acudieron el Consejo Académico y el equipo del Instituto, el catedrático de la Universidad de Alcalá y ex director del Instituto Franklin-UAH, el Dr. José Morilla, Leer más >

Camino Real Journal



  • María Jesús Buxó Central University of Barcelona
  • Maria Herrera-Sobek University of California at Santa Barbara
  • Nicolas Kanellos University of Houston
  • Eusebio Mujal-Leon Georgetown University
  • Silvio Torres-Saillant Syracuse University



  • Gilberto Cárdenas Sociology, Notre Dame University
  • Isabel Durán   Literature, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • Alicia Gaspar de Aba Literature, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Jesse Hoffnung-Garskof  History, University of Michigan
  • Francisco A. Lomelí Literature, University of California, Santa Bárbara
  • Manuel Martín-Rodríguez Literature, University of California, Merced
  • Glenn Martínez   Linguistics, University of Texas
  • Lisandro Pérez  Sociology, Florida International University
  • Clara Rodríguez   Sociology, Fordham University
  • Virginia Sánchez-Korrol History, City University of New York
  • Federico Subervi  Communications, Kent State University
  • Ramona Hernández, CUNY



  • Editor. José Antonio Gurpegui
  • Assistant Editor. Cristina Crespo
  • Reviews.  Jose Pablo Villalobos
  • Editorial Coordinator. Irene Moreno Acevedo

We use cookies to improve our services. You can change the settings or get more information on our cookies policy

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.