Camino Real Award The Camino Real Award was introduced in 2012, coinciding with the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the Institute (1987), to recognize the professional work of Spaniards who prominently and exemplary project and enhance the positive image of Spain in the United States. Read more >
ESPAUSA Encyclopedia The project “Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Spanish presence in the territory of the current United States (1512-1821)” consists in research and information gathering to develop an encyclopedia of the Spanish presence in the United States Read more >
El Instituto Franklin-UAH celebra su 30 aniversario El pasado jueves 21 de diciembre el Instituto Franklin-UAH celebró su 30 aniversario en una ceremonia organizada en la Universidad de Alcalá. Durante la ceremonia, a la que acudieron el Consejo Académico y el equipo del Instituto, el catedrático de la Universidad de Alcalá y ex director del Instituto Franklin-UAH, el Dr. José Morilla, Leer más >


Instituto Franklin > Events > 11th International Conference on Chicano Literature and Latino Studies


11th International Conference on Chicano Literature and Latino Studies

Towards New Interpretations of "Latinidad" in the 21st Century

Salamanca, May 28th-30th 2018

The 11th International Conference on Chicano Literature and Latino Studies, organized by HispaUSA and the Universidad de Salamanca, with the collaboration of the Instituto Franklin-UAH, will be held in Salamanca, May 28th-30th, 2018.

This Conference draws attention to the different interpretations of the concept of “Latinidad” at the present time, also looking towards the future. Therefore, “Latinidad” involves the blend of cultures recreating different identities, often forgotten in an exercise of permanent reconstruction.

Panels and Papers are welcome on these topics:

  • Different interpretations of Latino identity.
  • Multiculturalism and Interculturalism.
  • Construction of “Latinidad”.
  • Evolution and development of Latino concept.
  • The idea of “Latinidad” in literature.

For more information on the Conference, please visit: 

Scientific Committee

Silvia Betti (Universitá di Bologna)

Julio Cañero Serrano (Instituto Franklin-UAH)

Norma E. Cantú (Trinity University)

Isabel Durán Gimenez-Rico (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)

María Herrera-Sobek (University of California-Santa Barbara)

Gabriel Melendez (University of New Mexico)

Ana María Manzanas (Universidad de Salamanca)

Tino Villanueva

Organizing Committee

Jose Antonio Gurpegui Palacios (Instituto Franklin-UAH)

Miriam Borham Puyal (Universidad de Salamanca)

Viorica Patea (Universidad de Salamanca)

Cristina Crespo Palomares (Instituto Franklin-UAH)

Ana Lariño Ares (Instituto Franklin-UAH)

Irene Moreno Acevedo (Instituto Franklin-UAH)

Álvaro Gutiérrez Pizarro (Instituto Franklin-UAH)

Jorge Diego Sánchez (Universidad de Salamanca)

Registration Fees

Before March 5thBefore April 15th
Speaker+Membership Fee200 €240 €
Speaker Member160 €200 €
Speaker Non-Member210 €250 €
Attendee Member90 €130 €
Attendee Non-Member110 €150 €
Students75 €75 €

We use cookies to improve our services. You can change the settings or get more information on our cookies policy

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.